Journey from Mozart to Jazz, with narrator Barney Frank

Chamber Orchestra First Editions kicks off its second season with a program exploring the synthesis of classical music and jazz – called “third stream music” – with a performance of Gunther Schuller’s 1962 classic “A Journey into Jazz,” narrated by liberal icon Barney Frank, and the premiere of a new composition by jazz drummer Gabriel Globus-Hoenich. As with all COFE productions, these 20th and 21st century pieces will be complemented by early works of W.A. Mozart, including the Piano Concerto No. 12 with pianist Andrew Hauze and the remarkable Symphony No. 29, written at age 18. A half-hour discussion with Rep. Frank and the musicians will precede each concert.

Friday, October 6, 8 PM

Lang Concert Hall, Swarthmore College
concert free and open to the public without ticket

Saturday, October 7, 3 PM

Roberts Hall, Haverford College
concert free and open to the public without ticket

Sunday, October 8, 3 PM

Perelman Theater, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts
tickets $10 – $25


James Freeman, conductor
Heidi Jacob, Associate Conductor

  • W.A. Mozart, Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A Major, K. 414
    • Andrew Hauze, piano
  • Gunther Schuller, Journey into Jazz, for narrator, orchestra, and jazz quintet
    • Barney Frank, narrator
    • Rittenhouse Jazz Quintet
  • Gabriel Globus-Hoenich
    • new commissioned work for jazz quintet and string orchestra
  • W.A. Mozart, Symphony in A Major, K. 201
%d bloggers like this: